Office of Energy and Climate Change logo


Office of Energy & Climate Change

In 2017, Executive Parisi established both the Dane County Office of Energy and Climate Change (OECC) and the Dane County Council on Climate Change (DC4), to further the county’s efforts to address climate change. As a division within the County Executive’s Office, the OECC leads public and private efforts across the community to implement strategies to address climate change.

From July, 2017 through March 2019, the OECC coordinated and directed the activities of the DC4, as well several area-specific working groups, with the goal of developing a comprehensive Climate Action Plan. Based on science and evidence, the plan aims to maximize economic and health benefits, while increasing Dane County's energy security.


Keith Reopelle, Director

Keith Reopelle

I am the Director of Dane County’s Office of Energy and Climate Change. Prior to coming to Dane County, I was the Senior Policy Director at Clean Wisconsin where I worked for 32 years leading clean energy campaigns at the state and regional levels. I’ve served on numerous energy and climate -related task forces and advisory committees. I was a member of Governor Doyle’s Task Force on Global Warming as well as the Midwestern Governor’s Association Greenhouse Gas Accord advisory committee. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in wildlife ecology and a Masters of Science degree in environmental communications from the University of Wisconsin -Madison.


Kelly Osborn, Energy and Climate Change Specialist

Kelly Osborn

I've long been interested in the intersection between community, policy and the environment. This has led me to some diverse and interesting experiences, including sailing to the center of the North Atlantic Gyre on a scientific expedition with The Ocean Cleanup. In 2013, I founded the nonprofit Wisconsin WildCare, which provides rescue and rehabilitation of local wildlife, while providing education and outreach to encourage co-existence. With a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science and a Masters in Urban & Regional Planning - both from UW-Madison - with an Energy Analysis & Policy certificate from the Nelson Institute.


Smilla Jepsen, OECC InternSmilla Jepsen

I am an intern with the Dane County office for Energy and Climate change. I am a recent high school graduate from Copenhagen, where I have grown up. A different school system allowed me to major in geography and social studies, partly spiking my interest in climate change and sustainability. I am working with the Office for Energy and Climate Change, researching European climate action plans and efforts to reduce carbon emissions.


Dane County Council on Climate Change


The Council is made up of local government officials from across the county, business leaders, representatives of the University of Wisconsin Nelson Institute, local utilities, equity and environmental advocates. Its primary purpose is to draft a set of recommendations for programs, projects and policies that will Dane County on the path to deep decarbonization and establish Dane County as a national leader on climate mitigation.

The Council’s recommendations aim to demonstrate that deep decarbonization can be achieved in a just and equitable way, result in major economic and health benefits county-wide, and provide energy security, while bridging the County’s rural and urban communities. When finished, this roadmap to sustainability will be a guide not just for county government but also the business community, homeowners, and other local governments.

Dane County Council on Climate Change meeting on March 1, 2019

Dane County Council on Climate Change members

Alliant Energy H & H Energy Services
American Family Ho Chunk
Azar Law LLC Home Savings Bank
BIOFerm Energy Systems IBEW Local 2304
Citizens Utility Board Krupp General Contractors
City of Fitchburg Madison Metropolitan Sewerage Distict
City of Madison MGE
City of Middleton Nelson Institute
City of Monona Public Health Department of Madison & Dane County
City of Sun Prairie RENEW Wisconsin
Clean Fuel Partners Sierra Club
Clean Wisconsin Sun Peak
CRANES Sustain Dane
Dane County Land & Water Resources Department      Urban League of Madison
Dane County Emergency Management Urban League of Madison
Dane County Health UW-Health
Dane County Office of Equity and Inclusion Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts
Derr Farms Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
Exact Sciences Wisconsin Energy Institute
Fiskars WPPI
Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce YWCA of Madison

DC4 Community Teams Program

The DC4 Community Team is a collaboration of volunteers representing Dane County, the City of Madison, UW-Madison and the nonprofit Center for Resilient Cities, that is participating in the Healthy Wisconsin Leadership Institute Community Teams Program.  The goal of the Team is to ensure everyone in Dane County -regardless of income or ethnicity, urban or rural - to have the opportunity to shape the implementation of the Climate Action Plan and benefit from the resulting policies and programs.

DC4 Community Team members

Team members from left to right: